Looking back to my school life, infants and juniors….

As i turn 20 in a week or so i decided to have a clear out of my bedroom and as i was doing so i happened to come across all my reports from when i was at school. Now as someone who likes to keep absolutely everything, going through them i realised i have nearly every report from every school year. So here is a post about the comments my teachers made and how i felt at that time and if it effected me in anyway with my work and social skills.

Pre-School – 2000.

I dont remember much about pre-school only that it was a tiny little couple of rooms that was attached to the infants school. That and there used to be a lady who worked there and had blonde hair and always wore glasses. Other then that i couldn’t really tell you anything about my experience there as i was clearly too young to remember anything. The comments i get in my report however say nothing but positive things. If anything the report makes me come across as a very confident child.

“Sky shows excellent understanding of writing having a purpose and is keen to write lists, especially at role play activities. She has the confidence to sing songs to the group”

For as long as i can remember i would never get up in front of the class to present something without freaking out let alone sing to a group of people. Up until the last year or so i wouldn’t even sing loudly in my bedroom without the fear of my parents or someone hearing and making a sarcastic comment.

“Sky has a caring and affectionate nature and is an enthuasiastic and cheerful member of pre-school. She interacts well with others and often (not sure what word she uses as i am unable to understand her handwriting) group play”

Year R to Year 2

I remember year R very vividly. I remember having a boyfriend who also had 6 other girlfriends and thinking that was completely normal. I remember only having to walk a little extra to what i would have to get to my new class and my teacher being very sweet. Other then that i dont remember anything else. However i left near the end of year R to attend a school in Northampton so sadly i never got a report for that year. Nor did i for year 1 or year 2. But i remember year 2 like it was yesterday.

I remember having a teacher called Miss Scott who was horrible. By this stage i had become petrified of school and had screamed and cried every morning because i couldn’t face going in. Everyone was aware of the situation. The school, everyone in the playground and probably the whole town with how loud my screams were. However this teacher put it all down to me being a ‘spoilt brat’ so i got no sympathy in that respect. I remember two specific days very clearly.

Day 1 i had managed to somehow be persuaded to go into the classroom and i just remember sitting their during reading time crying my eyes out and when my friend came to comfort me she would have ago at them and tell them to leave me alone as i was in a mood and needed to come out of it before having any play. Day 2 is a little more embarrassing on my behalf and it haunts me every day since. My mum had tried everything to get me to go in to school with no fuss and one day she persuaded me to come to the school for a meeting and as soon as i realised i wasn’t going home with her i lost it. I remember being in the corridor screaming because i physically didn’t want to be left alone in this place that i felt so alone in. In turn i ended up seeing my mum cry her eyes out for the first time due to guilt that she was forcing me to do something that was making me in such a state. I feel as though that day effected me in some way for every day after but i dont dare mention it and bring back those memories for my mum.

Year 3 – 2004

I want to say year 3 started off great but then that would be some lie. It started off terrible. The first day of year 3 i stood in the playground and refused to go in. I had my hair cut short and i felt stupid. I felt like i was going to get bullied now i was in this entirely new school with people i didn’t particularly know. This in turn caused a huge scene in front of my new classmates and my new teacher which just about set me up for the entire year.

Looking on the positive side of school for once. My teacher was great. She had my brother the previous year meaning her and my mum were on a page they both understood and everything wasn’t so scary for my mum to leave me in her care.

“Sky is usually a happy friendly child. She works with enthusiasm and interest, always trying her best. She always listens well when lessons are being introduced and in discussion will often offer thoughtful contributions to the topic under discussion”

Despite my wobbles during the year in year 3 i had full attendance. I attended school 100%. Which you’ll come to realise is a one off for me. Im quite shocked myself actually looking at the attendance sheet. Thats not something i expected to see. In year 3 i did my Interim tests and my results are pretty impressive. Reading being a 3C. Writing being a 2B and maths being a 2B.

Year 4 – 2005

I dont remember year 4 that well. Im not sure why but its just not something thats stuck in my mind like the other years. I remember the teacher very clearly. We didn’t get along. I was always on the end of her lectures somehow. I could go through my report with you but quite frankly its just a whole load of writing of her putting me down in some part of my work and its not something i look on very fondly. I mean granted i wasn’t the smartest in my years at school but i didn’t have trouble at all with doing things correctly and having work done on time. She seemed to disagree clearly.

“Sky is very keen to do well and does try her best most of the time. She must remember not to rush her work and to check for easily correctable mistakes”

Again looking back on my attendance for year 4 im shocked. I have a 96.8% attendance. I mean granted although i was having trouble going in everyday it hadn’t gotten to the point where it was affecting me very widely.

Year 5 – 2006

Shoutout to my teacher for this year. Mr O’Neill. He was absolutely amazing especially as this year was quite possibly the worst out of all of the years i went to school. I absolutely hated it by this point. Refusing to go into school and getting away with it because my dad was at work so i could just bunk off as most of the time my mum was poorly. By this point every one in the school was aware of what a horror i was in the morning. It getting to a point where my learning was affected as i would get myself in such a state that i wouldn’t be able to concentrate for the rest of the day.

“Sky is an able girl who has maintained a good standard across the subject range. She listens well and can express her opinion clearly. Sky needs to work hard to begin the day without the show of tears and moans that she puts you through. Despite all the support offered to her by Mrs Gee and the school, Sky has it in her own control to curb the daily performance. She must maintain regular attendance and tackle each day in a positive cheery manner”

It going so far that the headteachers comment was also involved.

“Now that Sky is moving to year 6 i expect to hear that she is taking a far more mature to entering school in the morning. She is a bright young lady and i expect her to pull all her efforts into achieving to her potential”

I hate to think what my attendance for year 5 was as i hardly ever attended but seen as i dont seem to have an attendance slip to hand i suppose it’ll just leave us all guessing.

Year 6 – 2007

Year 6. The year we have drummed into our minds that our future could be affected by the choices we make in this specific year. The year we spend being stressed over how much our work needs to be put forward in order to achieve something we can be proud of and show off to other people.

This year was pretty ok for me if im honest. I had a few wobbles but the mornings seem to calm down by the time i got to year 6. Being in the same class for so many years i had finally gotten used to the people around me and felt comfortable going in every morning. I mean i must admit i had alot of time off school meaning i fell behind quite alot but that was just a usual thing i did by now. If something got too much i would have a couple of days off school to have a calm down about the whole situation. In year 6 however you weren’t allowed to do that. Take even an hour off to go to the dentist they would come at you about how important this year was and how you were affecting the decision on your future school.

I remember one time in year 6 where i had been a typical child and mixed blue paint with glue whilst i was cleaning it all away and my teacher absolutely let rip on me. I felt humiliated and sat there for the rest of the lesson crying my eyes out because to me i was cleaning it away and it wasn’t going to be used anyway so i didn’t see what the problem was however for her it was some out of control issue that she felt the need to humiliate me for in front of the entire class. That the meaning i had more days off as i was too embarrassed to even go into class for at least a week of two after that.

“Sky always listens well to lesson introductions and she makes good contributions to the class discussions. She also works hard at her table and has produced some wonderful pieces of work this year. Because of this, she has been my student of the week on more than one occasion. During the second half of the year Skys work speed increased dramatically and i regularly had to provide her with extra work as she was going so fast. Although i am concerned at the amount of time that she has had off school, in particular during the build up to her SATs.

My headteachers comment for the end of the school seeming to be somewhat similar

“Skys attendance for the whole year has fallen below 85% and this needs to improve next year. Over the four years i have never had to speak to Sky about anything negative”

Turns out my time off didn’t affect my SATs at all. I achieved a level 4 in everything except reading which i achieved a level 5 in. Which is a level thats above the national standard expected for most 11 year olds.

I feel as though i was very lucky as although going to school was hard for me during Juniors and Infants it doesn’t seem to have had that much of an effect on my school work, meaning i was able to achieve above average in the end even when the teachers doubted i would be able to achieve even average due to so much time off. I am no way boasting, its just how it is. I find myself very intelligent. Not overly intelligent and someone who should stand out of a crowd of people but as intelligent as you would expect a  young woman at my age to be and that is something i find a good credit about myself despite everything i have had to go through in my life.

You may have noticed this is only my Infants and Junior year. Due to this blog post being so long i felt it was only best to split it into two different blog posts as my secondary school years are filled with alot more complicated situations as the classes are all separate and there are different attendances, teacher comments and grades for each class.

Look out for my next post and feel free to sign up for email alerts when a post is posted, it will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Have a good day

Sky x

Leave a Reply

